Pavel Haas Quartet - UGA Performing Arts Center
Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

« All Events

The Pavel Haas Quartet has been called “the world’s most exciting string quartet” (Gramophone) and is revered across the globe for its richness of timbre, infectious passion, and intuitive rapport. The group takes its name from the Czech composer Pavel Haas, who died at Auschwitz in 1944 and whose legacy includes three enduring string quartets. The ensemble’s first performance at UGA features three prominent Central European composers: Antonín Dvořák, Josef Suk (Dvořák’s protégé and son-in-law), and Austrian Erich Korngold (one of the most influential Hollywood composers).

Pre-performance talk in Ramsey Concert Hall at 6:45 pm (free admission).

Hugh Hodgson Concert Hall (View Seating Chart)

230 River Road
Athens, GA 30605


Veronika Jarůšková, violin
Marek Zwiebel, violin
Šimon Truszka, viola
Peter Jarůšek, cello


SUK: Meditation on an old Czech Hymn “St. Wenceslas”, Op. 35a
KORNGOLD: Quartet No. 3 in D Major, Op. 34
DVORˇ ÁK: Quartet in G Major, Op. 106

Supported by

Jed Rasula and Suzi Wong
Dr. Janice Simon