New York Philharmonic String Quartet - UGA Performing Arts Center
Loading Events

« All Events

“This quartet offered up some of the most beautiful playing I’ve heard.”—Reading Eagle

Established in 2017 during the New York Philharmonic’s 175th anniversary, this ensemble includes four principal musicians from its namesake orchestra. The quartet returns to Athens with Haydn’s brilliant and classic Viennese Op. 77, No. 1 and a Dvořák composition not heard on our stage in at least 15 years. Also on the program: Atlanta composer Joel Thompson’s recent work that he hopes “gives voice to our current angst and perhaps inspires us to change our tune.”

Hodgson Concert Hall (View Seating Chart)

230 River Road
Athens, GA 30605


Frank Huang, violin
Qianqian Li, violin
Cynthia Phelps, viola
Carter Brey, cello


HAYDN: String Quartet in G Major, Op. 77, No. 1, Hob. III:81
JOEL THOMPSON: In Response to the Madness
DVOŘÁK: String Quartet No. 11 in C Major, Op. 61

Supported by

Gregory and Jennifer Holcomb