Loading Events

This performance was originally scheduled for April 11, 2020, but due to the closure of the UGA Performing Arts Center during the COVID-19 pandemic, it has been rescheduled for March 22, 2021.  All tickets for the original date will be honored at the door on the new date. Please contact the box office with any questions.

Robert McDuffie, violin
Robert Spano, piano

Enjoy a duo recital from two stellar artists who have become Athens favorites! Grammy-nominated violinist Robert McDuffie has appeared as soloist with the world’s foremost orchestras on five continents. His last appearance in Hodgson Hall was with R.E.M.’s Mike Mills, who composed the Concerto for Violin, Rock Band, and String Orchestra specifically for him. He is joined by pianist Robert Spano, music director of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and a highly imaginative conductor whose distinctive artistry has created a sense of inclusion and warmth among musicians and audiences that is unique among American orchestras.


Photos: Lynn Savarese and Angela Morris

  • Program

    BRAHMS: Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Major

    CORIGLIANO: Sonata for Violin and Piano

    BEETHOVEN: Violin Sonata No. 7 in C minor


  • Supported by

    Susan and Claiborne Glover

    The Trashy Book Club of Athens