Loading Events

Two of classical music’s biggest and most dynamic stars—both making their UGA Presents debuts—join forces for an electrifying evening of musical fireworks! Greek violinist Leonidas Kavakos is recognized as an artist of rare quality, known for his virtuosity, superb musicianship, and “balance of pyrotechnics and lyricism” (New York Times). Beijing-born pianist Yuja Wang has been hailed as “quite simply the most dazzlingly, uncannily gifted pianist in the concert world today” (San Francisco Chronicle) due to her charisma, artistry, and captivating stage presence. Together they will illuminate a program of classical treasures, including two of Bach’s beloved sonatas as well as Busoni’s adventurous Sonata No. 2 and Shostakovich’s grand and muscular Sonata in G major. This will be one of the most highly anticipated events of the season!

Pre-performance talk in Ramsey Concert Hall at 6:45 pm (free admission).

View our COVID-19 safety protocols here.

Photos: Marco Borggreve / Kirk Edwards

  • Performers

    Leonidas Kavakos, violin
    Yuja Wang, piano

  • Program

    BACH: Sonata No. 3 in E major, BWV 1016
    BUSONI: Sonata No. 2 in E minor, Op. 36
    BACH: Sonata No. 1 in B minor, BWV 1014
    SHOSTAKOVICH: Sonata in G major, Op. 134

  • Supported by

    John A. Maltese