Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
| | | | |

25th Anniversary Season Opening Nights:
Doric String Quartet
Jonathan Biss, piano

Free (Tickets Required)

October 15, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Due to pandemic-related delays currently impacting international travel, the performance on Oct. 5 has been moved October, 15, 8 pm. All tickets issued for the performance on Oct. 5 remain valid for the performance on Oct. 15. It is not necessary to obtain new tickets. 

Payne Memorial Concert

Firmly established as one of the leading quartets of its generation, this U.K.-based ensemble makes its UGA Presents debut in collaboration with pianist Jonathan Biss. The quartet receives enthusiastic responses from audiences and critics alike as they travel across the globe. With repertoire ranging from Haydn to Bartok to contemporary works, the quartet’s schedule takes them to the world’s leading concert halls including Carnegie Hall, Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, Vienna’s Konzerthaus, Berlin’s Konzerthaus, Tokyo’s Kioi Hall, the Louvre in Paris, and London’s Wigmore Hall.

Jonathan Biss—an Athens favorite for his Ramsey Hall solo recital in 2018 and his performance of Beethoven’s beloved “Emperor” concerto with the Curtis Symphony Orchestra in 2020—brings his immeasurable gifts to English composer Elgar’s thematic piano quintet for a grand conclusion to this highly anticipated season-opening event.

Pre-performance talk in Ramsey Concert Hall at 7:15 pm (free admission).

View our COVID-19 safety protocols here.

About the Payne Memorial Concert

The Payne Memorial Concert is named in honor of Dr. William Jackson “Jack” Payne, former Dean of the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, who founded the Franklin College Chamber Music Series in 1978. Dean Payne had a great love of the arts and his wish was that the college should make a significant contribution to the cultural life of both the University and the Athens community through the chamber music series. In honor of his efforts, the Payne Memorial Concert is presented free to the public once each season.

Photos: George Garnier / Benjamin Ealovega

  • Performers

    Alex Redington, violin
    Ying Xue, violin
    Hélène Clément, viola
    John Myerscough, cello
    Jonathan Biss, piano

  • Program

    BEETHOVEN: Quartet in F major, Op. 18, No. 1
    BARTÓK: Quartet No. 3, Sz. 85
    ELGAR: Quintet in A minor, Op. 84

  • Supported by

    Jane Payne