Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
| | |

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Emanuel Ax, piano

November 24, 2019 | 3:00 pm

Emanuel Ax from the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra sitting at a piano.

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Robert Spano, conductor
Emanuel Ax, piano

Experience “one of the great classical artists of his generation at the peak of his ability” (broadstreetreview.com) when Emanuel Ax tackles the broad vistas of Brahms’s Piano Concerto No. 1. A piece that combines pianistic élan with the meatiness of a symphony, the “Brahms First” remains one of the most gratifying and most celebrated Romantic concertos. Robert Spano presents the Brahms alongside Aaron Copland’s beloved Appalachian Spring, which was composed for choreographer and dancer Martha Graham in 1944 and has since achieved enduring popularity.

Pre-performance talk in Ramsey Concert Hall at 2:15 pm (free admission).


Photo: Lisa Marie Mazzucco

  • Performers

    Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
    Robert Spano, conductor
    Emanuel Ax, piano

  • Program

    BRIAN RAPHAEL NABORS: Onward (world premiere)
    COPLAND: Suite from Appalachian Spring
    BRAHMS: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor for Piano and Orchestra, Opus 15

    Note: the previously announced new composition by Richard Prior will no longer appear on this program. 

  • Supported by

    Sandra Strother Hudson and Cecil C. Hudson, M.D.
    Merrell and Connie Calhoun
    Libby V. and C. Van Morris
    Tom and Karen Kenyon