UGA Performing Arts Center


Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

View Seating Hodgson Concert Hall
Ticket Prices: $76-$66
Sunday, September 24 3:00 PM

The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra’s first Athens concert of the season features Leonard Bernstein’s Symphony No. 2, The Age of Anxiety. Composed in 1949, Bernstein based his “Symphony for Piano and Orchestra” on W. H. Auden’s book-length poem. Hailed as “one of the best pianists in the world,” piano soloist Jean-Yves Thibaudet drew the praise of the Cleveland Plain Dealer for his “great energy, brilliant technique and unassailable artistry." Gershwin’s ever-popular An American in Paris rounds out the program.