UGA Performing Arts Center


Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

View Seating Hodgson Concert Hall
Ticket Prices: $76-$66
Sunday, January 28 3:00 PM

Robert Spano leads the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in two powerful works by Beethoven and Bernstein. Known for its forceful melodies and heroic spirit, Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto is the most frequently performed of the composer’s five piano concertos. The Los Angeles Times called piano soloist Jorge Osorio “one of the more elegant and accomplished pianists on the planet.” Leonard Bernstein composed his first major symphonic work, the Symphony No. 1, Jeremiah, in 1942. The symphony follows the Biblical story of the prophet Jeremiah with texts from the Book of Lamentations sung by Metropolitan Opera mezzo-soprano Jennifer Johnson Cano.

Pre-concert Lecture
A pre-concert lecture will be given by Ken Meltzer, author of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra’s program notes and host of the weekly radio show, “Meet the Classics,” on Atlanta’s AM-1690. The lecture begins at 2:15 p.m. in Ramsey Concert Hall in the Performing Arts Center.